Back to School

I don’t know about you guys but we went back to school this week. As a parent, my kids are both happy as to return to their semi normal routines of school days. That means getting up earlier, eating breakfast at a reasonable time and actually getting dressed by 7.30 am.

While miss Highland Dancer went off with dust swishing off her feet on Sunday afternoon to boarding school, we couldn’t slow her down. She couldn’t wait to catch up with friends and just ‘get back to school’. Her words were, “Now Mum, its not that I don’t love you and all that and I have LOVED being at home with you these past 6 weeks but I think I really need to get back to actual school work again.” All I can say is this……whaaaaat?? Here I thought i was doing an okay job of this home schooling, cooking, cleaning, baking, fitness instructor, counsellor and teacher. I am quite sure I missed out a few roles there but hey, I actually quite liked the jobs….at first.

The Karate Kid, however struggled a little with this program of change this week. He found it hard getting to sleep. I swear it was like having a toddler again. I felt like I have been on a different repeat. Lately its been “do some work kid” and now its “go to bed”. He’s 10, how hard can this be really!!

Now for me, getting back to school as a teacher is a godsend. I really didn’t sleep good on Sunday night, I saw every hour of the clock! I am not sure if it was excitement or nerves or both. Whatever, I made it to school on time and the kids were sooooo happy to be there. Well most of them. LOL They also had got used to being at home, doing lazy stuff and what not!! I started the day with a fun activity (after we took the role). It was about what lockdown looked for everyone, because we all had a different experience (I will share that with you in case you want to try it out). I know some folks hated it, some loved it and some had mixed feelings. I think if I hadn’t been a teacher, it may have been different but when I reflect on it, well I think, crikey….I actually enjoyed it (not the cooking though).

I managed to get the sewing machine out once or twice to make a few bits and pieces as I was sick and tired of people coughing over when I was doing my essential shopping.

Its been a bit of a learning curve, getting to bed earlier at night, meeting the expectations of meals that have been set these past few weeks (that has been hard) but hubby has taken to the stove this week once or twice. Albeit simplified meals but I didn’t have to cook so that is a blessing in disguise. Now I need to work out how to get the baking completed when I am not at home all day. Ah, I forgot, supermarket here we come!!!

Anyways, I am feeling rather weary as they say so I am going to sign off for today and wish you well. I thought I might have a wee glass of wine but I think I am going to be seeing zzzzzzz’s very shortly so will save the vino for tomorrow’s wine 0’clock!!

For now, hope your week has been fun and rewarding (and your kids are still alive). I made up a few videos while I was on lockdown so you can have a wee squizz at what I have been doing!!

Rosie 🌹

Published by Rosie 🌹

Hey, I'm Rosie, originally from Scotland but live here in sunny NZ with my hubby and 2 kids. I am a lover of books, social media, music and sometimes fitness. I am also a full time primary teacher, full time mum, full time household manager and a full time wife. Life itself can actually be quite tough, challenging and sometimes throw a curve ball at us, but through all that we survive. My survival route is finding the positives in everything no matter how small or insignificant. My goal is to share the positives with whoever wants to listen. I can only tell you my story, its the only one I know so...... Welcome to Life's Rosie!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started